(951) 565-5002

Riverside Transit Agency (RTA) Board members have unanimously selected Canyon Lake Council Member Jeremy Smith to lead the RTA Board of Directors in 2024.

As chair, Smith will be responsible for leading the Board in setting policy, guiding Agency priorities, conducting the Agency’s Board meetings, and representing the Agency during public events. Smith, who has been on the Board since 2018 and served as first vice chair in 2023, fills the position most recently held by Calimesa City Council Member Linda Molina.

SMITH1 Web“I am truly honored to be selected by my fellow Board members for this important position,” Smith said. “No doubt, this is a significant period for RTA as we continue to evolve in positive ways to serve our growing number of customers. It’s a great time to be a bus rider in Riverside County and there’s a lot to be excited about in the year ahead.”

A great time, indeed. On January 14, buses will begin rolling into the new Vine Street Mobility Hub in Riverside where customers will experience one of the county’s most-anticipated projects, featuring 16 bus bays, a community plaza, shade structures, and plenty of greenspace. Other projects expected to gain momentum in the year ahead include the first-of-its-kind microtransit service in Hemet and San Jacinto, a successful U-Pass and Go-Pass programs that give thousands of students unlimited bus rides, the GoMobile app that allows customers to track their bus and buy passes, and popular fare promotions such as Free Ride Fridays.

During his tenure on the Board, Smith has been part of several Agency milestones, including RTA’s decision to move toward hydrogen-fueled buses, the introduction of sleeker and more modern fareboxes on buses, and several promotions including 25 cent rides, discounted 30-Day passes and Free Ride Fridays. In addition to his responsibilities on the Board of Directors, Smith also serves on RTA’s Budget and Finance Committee and Executive Committee and is a longstanding member of the Southwest chapter of Transportation NOW, a grassroots group dedicated to promoting public transportation in the region. Smith was first elected to the Canyon Lake City Council in 2018 and was the mayor from 2021-2023.

RTA Board members also voted Riverside Council Member Steve Hemenway as first vice chair and Corona Vice Mayor Jim Steiner as second vice chair.